“One of Marshalltown’s finest” – Franklin Elementary teacher named among five Iowa Teacher of the Year finalists

Franklin Elementary kindergarten teacher and Iowa Teacher of the Year finalist Amy Phillips works with her class on a lesson.

Longtime Franklin Elementary kindergarten teacher Amy Phillips was among the five finalists for this year’s Iowa Teacher of the Year Award.

Franklin Principal Tim Holmgren, who nominated Phillips for the award last spring, called the 31-year educator “One of Marshalltown’s finest.”

After being named as a finalist, Phillips presented for several state-level leaders in education. Throughout the process, she said she received great support and feedback from her fellow Franklin staff members.

“I am the teacher I am because of the people I work with,” Phillips said, adding that she has adapted to many changes over her long teaching career at Franklin.

Prior to teaching kindergarten, Phillips started her teaching career in a Franklin preschool classroom. She said she enjoys working with young students and providing them with a strong foundation for academic success.

Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte emphasized the magnitude of Phillips’ accomplishment.

“It is a huge honor just to be among the top five in the state,” he said. “We’re really proud and happy that you’re with us at the Marshalltown Community School District.”

Congratulations to Amy Phillips!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.