MCC dance team visits Rogers Elementary School


The Marshalltown Community College dance team visited Rogers Elementary School on February 24. The team performed as part of a special assembly at the school.

Rogers Principal Mick Jurgensen said the visit was part of the college and career ready effort at Rogers, which encourages students to continue their education past high school.

Aside from dancing, the MCC students also answered questions from the Rogers students.


Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Youth art show opens with reception on February 25


Pictured are three of the hundreds of art pieces on display as part of the Marshalltown Community School District youth art show  at the Fisher Community Center through March 27. An opening reception will be held from 1 to 3 p.m. on Saturday, February 25.

Show on display through March 27

The annual Marshalltown Community School District art show as part of youth art month will be on display at the Fisher Community Center auditorium from February 25 to March 27.

An opening reception is planned from 1 to 3 p.m. on Saturday, February 25 at the Fisher Community Center. Light refreshments will be served. The public is invited to come and view the show during the reception or anytime during regular business hours for the next month.

Approximately 400 works of art will be on display at the show created by students from throughout the district. The Fisher Community Center is located at 709 S. Center St. in Marshalltown.




Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Local graduate proud to be from Marshalltown


Jason Hass works as an Information Technology manager at Lennox in Marshalltown. He is a 1988 Marshalltown High School graduate.

When hearing Jason Hass talk about his love of Marshalltown and the Bobcats, it becomes apparent why he decided to stay in the community and raise his children in Marshalltown.

“It’s my hometown and I have a strong feeling about you need to support your hometown in every facet,” Hass said. “Kids are the future.”

Hass is a 1988 Marshalltown High School graduate. He works as an Information Technology manager at Lennox Industries in Marshalltown, a company he has worked for since 1993. He is local graduate of Marshalltown Community College and Buena Vista University.

As part of his job, Hass supports business processes for North American residential manufacturing. He said the IT field “came naturally” for him.

Jason and his wife Jennifer have two children, one is an MHS graduate and one is a student at MHS.

“Marshalltown is a good place to raise kids,” Hass said.

He is wrapping up his president post on the Bobcat Booster Club soon and he believes in supporting athletics and as well as academics.

Hass remembers fondly his time growing up in Marshalltown and his Bobcat pride continues in raising his kids.

“I have a tremendous amount of pride for the community,” he said.

BobcatPride logo.jpg

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Eighth grade parent night February 28 at MHS

Marshalltown High School will host an eighth grade parent night at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, February 28 in the MHS/Community Auditorium. All current eighth grade parents, families and students are welcome.

This annual event invites eighth graders and their parents to learn more about high school courses and scheduling as well as general transition information.

MHS administrators and counselors will give presentations and students will have a chance to meet with teachers from each department and learn more about courses offered at MHS.

For more information, contact the counseling offices at MHS (641-754-1130) or Miller Middle School (641-754-1110).

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Art teacher part of statewide team developing standards in fine arts


Maggie Parks

Marshalltown Community School District elementary art teacher Maggie Parks has been selected to be part of a new team that will develop recommended statewide standards in fine arts.

The team’s mission is to create a series of concepts and skills designed to foster creativity and critical thinking in fine arts, which include visual art, general music, instrumental music, vocal music, theater, dance and media arts.

“I am very excited that the Iowa Department of Education has solidified their commitment to quality fine arts instruction by reviewing and hopefully adopting rigorous standards for Iowa students,” Parks said. “I’m honored to be chosen for the team, and I’m looking forward to the review process. I plan to bring all that I learn from the experience back to the Marshalltown art department to benefit our students.”

The team had its first meeting on February 21.The team will seek public feedback and eventually will offer recommended standards to the State Board of Education for consideration. Parks teaches art at Fisher and Woodbury elementary schools.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Curiosity led MHS graduate into engineering field


Meredith Bell is manager of materials engineering at Emerson in Marshalltown. She is a 1999 Marshalltown High School graduate.

It’s safe to say Meredith Bell had an interest in how things work at a young age.

“My mom said when I was three I learned how to fix the vacuum,” Bell said. “I grew up curious on how things worked.”

That curiosity led the 1999 Marshalltown High School graduate to study engineering at Iowa State University.

She is currently manager of materials engineering at Emerson in Marshalltown. Her department supports the global valve manufacturer on material engineering concerns.

“It’s challenging and always something new and we are pretty passionate about it,” Bell said.

She is married to Kansas native and fellow Emerson engineer Brandon Bell and the couple has three young children.

Somehow amid a busy home and work life, Meredith also makes time to give back to the community. She is part of the Assistance League, the Fisher Elementary Parent Teacher Organization, is on committees for Iowa Valley Leadership and the police/fire building and is active in other church and civic organizations.

“Volunteering is a calling of mine,” she said. “I give back and help other people be successful in their endeavors.”

Bell said she had “a lot of great teachers” at Marshalltown High School who helped prepare her to handle the rigors of college. Her parents, Bob and Karen Berger, still live in town.

Bell said Marshalltown has a nice blend of small town charm and nearby amenities. She is also part of a group of young professionals who are helping shape the future of the community.

“I’m excited to see people stepping up again and revitalizing the town in a different and modern way,” Bell said.

BobcatPride logo.jpg

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Two open house events planned for Roundhouse Phase 2 design updates

The Marshalltown Community School District will host two open house events for the community to receive an update on the preliminary design for the construction of Phase 2 of the Marshalltown High School Roundhouse.

One open house will be held from noon to 1 p.m. on Wednesday, February 22 in the MHS Roundhouse team room.

An additional open house will be held at 5 p.m. on Monday, March 6 in the district board room in the administration center at 1002 S. 3rd. Ave. It will be held prior to the 6 p.m. board meeting that night.

Roundhouse Phase 2 will include a wrestling room and an auxiliary gym. FEH Design is the architect for the project and representatives from the company will be in attendance at the open house events.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment